Fashion the Toggles the Goggles

Fashion That Toggles the Goggles

The Goggles are focused on Rag Dollz

By Dakk McDunnough

This find was quite by accident! I was in the process of doing a late September hunt and I popped into this wonderful emporium of all kinds of goodies for the Steampunker, the Lolita and dread pirates sailing the vast seas in all of us – Avast thar maties!

The owner and head designer is Emedea Morgenstern.  I fell very easily into conversation with her about Rag Dollz, her creations, and what life and everything meant to her. Well maybe not the life part. Read on for the interview!

Dakk McDunnough: ok so you are the owner and lead designer at Ragdollz?

Emedea Morgenstern: Yes I am.

Dakk McDunnough: How did you get started into designing especially designing Steampunk?

Emedea Morgenstern: I had been in SL some months and I had experience already with Paint Shop Pro so I decided I was going to learn how to make clothing.  As for steampunk, I’ve been a fan ever since the Wild, Wild West series forever ago.  It’s a style that you can do so much with and never boring.

Dakk McDunnough: OMG I use PSP and I loved that movie too!

Emedea Morgenstern: O I love it!  I prefer it to Photoshop, highly

Dakk McDunnough: I am a RL photographer and it is my Digital Darkroom!  Ok, let’s get back on subject – LOL I can go rambling off on side tracks all day if you let me!

Dakk McDunnough: how would you explain what Steampunk is to someone who has no idea? Take me for example, I am still learning as I go along.

Emedea Morgenstern: I would say imagine if, around the turn of the century, we had went toward steam power instead of the way things now, while keeping all of the lovely Victorian style clothing and manners of speech and society.  Everything more mechanical, and more adventurous!

Emedea Morgenstern: Of course there are so many facets of steampunk, goth steam, steampulp, weird west etc

Dakk McDunnough: LOL Vampiric?

Emedea Morgenstern: oh yes!

Emedea Morgenstern: People mix steampunk with just about everything and it really seems to work out.  There is such a romance to it, you can add it to anything and have style :))

Dakk McDunnough: What is your one most favorite design element or accessory?

Emedea Morgenstern: I would have to say probably bustles.  Especially in Steampunk you can go wild with them and it really makes the gowns. 😀

Dakk McDunnough: Do you have one design element that is evident in almost every piece you design that is like a trademark for you –

[2010/10/06 19:57]  Emedea Morgenstern: hmmm *thinks* Well, I’m thinking of all my outfits and I think it’s more of a style that stays with them.  Most that I do have some Victorian flair to them, either the bustles, lacey accents, flowers, something like that.  I make whatever pops into my head.  I don’t have any set standard that I go with each time.  I just try to get in a lot of nice details, texture-wise. I think my steampunk is not as hardcore as most.  It’s a little funky and carefree! hehe

Dakk McDunnough: I think you have a little bit of whimsy in there too!

Emedea Morgenstern: Oh yes! 😀

Dakk McDunnough: what has been any of your favorite designs thus far?

Emedea Morgenstern: ooo that’s a hard one, they change all the time. 😀  I would have to say tho that Amelia Takes Off is my favorite.  It was one of my first, but it really says it all about steampunk.  I imagined if Amelia Earhart had been in a Steamverse instead of historical times.

Dakk McDunnough: Where do you see your brand in about 2-3 years?

Emedea Morgenstern: If Second Life hangs in there that long I hope to still be here doing the same thing.  Like we talked about, I have just released affiliates so hopefully those will take off.  I really love making clothing and am so thankful that customers have allowed me to keep on this long, so I’m hoping for much more designing. If I could clone myself, I’d do a children’s section, but I don’t see that happening anytime soon :))

Dakk McDunnough:  What is your favorite holiday?

Emedea Morgenstern: Halloween, no doubt! Ever since I was a kid, getting dressed up and looting candy is the best!  😀 😀

Dakk McDunnough: Definitely!

Dakk McDunnough:  Is there anyone who is your muse?

Emedea Morgenstern: I’d have to say that every Steampunk/Victorian movie is!  Every time I watch one, I have 100 ideas for new outfits to make. 😀

Emedea Morgenstern: The last one was Life with Father, very Victorian.  I went straight and made a gown after watching it hehe

Dakk McDunnough: Do you have anything else you wish to add?

Emedea Morgenstern: Just that our clothing here should be fun and express who we are and what we would like to be.  I hope people will give the alternate styles, like Steampunk, a try.  I think they would like!

Rag Dollz has clothes for every taste from our beloved Steapunk to Lolita and western wear. She designs mostly for women, but there are some real gems in there for men as well and I am not talking bustles, ladies! You can purchase items as gifts, as well as Gift Certificates, so you can give that man in your life a real treat! Remember Christmas is just around the corner!

On the Steampunk Fashion Beat – This has been Dakk McDunnough

…ow my feet hurt – these heels – what do you mean the mic is still on? Oh no! cut, cut!

PHOTOS:

Emedea Morgenstern (photo 1)Anette Deceit – His Lady in Red (Photo 2) Dakk McDunnough – Regal (photo 3) NyteStalker Venom – Walk in the Park – His (Photo 4) Desiree Lurra – Watchmaker’s Daughter (Photo 5)  Danfer Bonne – Zacharias  (Photo 6)

About steampunkadventurers

Group for the Steampunk Adventure Emporium in Second Life
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment